3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2008 3:18 AM by January_jsd

SWF Optimization

January_jsd
      I'm still new to Flex3, and I'm glad this is my language of choice, but once you get passed all the language stuff and compile, you are - sometimes - left with a fairly large SWF file (a couple of meg, or so).

How do you reduce this file's size? What are the best ways/tools to do this?

I think, and from what I've seen, graphics are responsible for the main size increases, PNGs especially. I've tried compressing the PNGs, but you rarely get more than 10kb to 50kb saving there. And, I've tried the small line of 'flash optimizer' tools - the only one that kind of worked was Eltima's Flash Optimizer, and that failed miserably (a 1mb SWF was reduced to 172kb (nice), but the output file's graphics became ... nonsensical, hideously malformed gibberish); worse, the forum responsible for Flash Optimizer isn't taking any new posts, and their 'contact' form doesn't work.

Does anybody know of some good ways to reduce the SWF size (excluding not embedding assets)? If Eltima's Flash Optimizer can reduce 1mb to 172kb (granted, it didn't work correctly), there must be some reduction method available?

Cheers :)
        • 1. Re: SWF Optimization
          Level 7

"January_jsd" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:g7s65n$eda$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > I'm still new to Flex3, and I'm glad this is my language of choice, but
          > once
          > you get passed all the language stuff and compile, you are - sometimes -
          > left
          > with a fairly large SWF file (a couple of meg, or so).
          >
          > How do you reduce this file's size? What are the best ways/tools to do
          > this?
          >
          > I think, and from what I've seen, graphics are responsible for the main
          > size
          > increases, PNGs especially. I've tried compressing the PNGs, but you
          > rarely