17 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2008 4:14 PM by kglad

Drag and Drop exercise

naklar
      Hi. I am a language teacher and completely new to Flash. I have designed a drag and drop exercise with textboxes that I converted into movie clips.
      One set of textboxes are empty and are the 'target' textboxes.
      The other set of textboxes are exactly the same size but have writing in them. I have attached the following action script to the moveable textboxes:

While I have succeeded in making the textboxes move, they will not drop into the 'target' textboxes and stay there. Any idea, why?
        • 1. Re: Drag and Drop exercise
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          you mean you clicked on the movieclip that contains your textfield and attached that code to your movieclip?

if yes, use _droptarget.
          • 2. Re: Drag and Drop exercise
            naklar Level 1
            Thank you so much for your help! You understood me correctly - the actionscript is attached to the textbox (movie clip) with the textfield. I have tried what you have suggested, i.e. put an underscore before the drop but it still does not work. Now the code looks like this:
            Is that what you meant? Thanks again for your help!
            • 3. Re: Drag and Drop exercise
              yes, that's correct. but you have a path error to headtarget. use:

if(eval(this._droptarget)==_root.headtarget){
              • 4. Re: Drag and Drop exercise
                naklar Level 1
                Hi. Thanks again for your help! I have changed the code but it still does not work. When I originally drew the textboxes, I started off with the empty one (target box) and then copied it onto another layer and added the text. Could that have altered the size? They look the same size when I put them on top of each other. Anyway, the code I have now used looks like this. Is that correct?
                • 5. Re: Drag and Drop exercise