• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why colors of PNG looks different in the viewport and export window?

Community Beginner ,
Oct 11, 2017 Oct 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm a 3d designer, I have simple PNG files from the screenshot, I see colors are dimmed but when I export they look exactly as original.  I set it to RGB 16bit, but did not help.

please review the screenshot, on the left, there is viewport dimmed and on the right, there is the Export window which looks exactly as original png, not modified. Why?

2017-10-11 20_21_32.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Oct 11, 2017 Oct 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Screenshots may require to apply the monitor color profile to look correct. A captured viewport from a 3D program usually simply is not color managed.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Oct 12, 2017 Oct 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The Export window is not color managed by default - because the file it exports is not color managed by default. The original color profile is not embedded in the exported file.

You need to check "embed color profile" to get full color management, as well as "convert to sRGB".

3D applications are mostly not color managed at all. Traditionally this didn't cause too much trouble because monitors were close enough to sRGB that you wouldn't notice the difference.