4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2017 1:11 PM by nooshina76115334

How to give an expression to an effect?

nooshina76115334

Screen Shot 2017-10-12 at 18.19.49.png

I'm a beginner in After effect ( also I amateur in Ps, Ai and Id ) so Anyone knows how can I reach to that Express Radius  part ?????

I have cc 2017 version of AE by the way.

• 1. Re: How to give an expression to an effect?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You need to spend some time learning the basics of expressions and the use of the pickwhip. Please spend some time in the help files.

I am not exactly sure what you want to do. If you created that expression it is already It is not doing anything. The first part effect("Advanced Lightning") does call out the name of an effect applied to that layer but there is no parameter in Advanced Lightning named "6" so (6) or even ("6") is meaningless. If you want to set the radius to six then your expression is just 6.

Please take the time to at least read the help files or go the After Effects product page and click on the link New to After Effects? Get the basics and spend some time learning. You'll never get it by just poking around and fiddling with the knobs.

• 2. Re: How to give an expression to an effect?
            dnbstudios Level 1