13 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2008 9:06 PM by Badly Drawn Boy

How do I do this?

Badly Drawn Boy Level 1
      I'm a total newbie with Flash and I am trying to learn how to make a text-based menu that displays an image when the viewer hovers/rolls over a link.

In the screenshot below I'd like to set it up so that when the viewer hovers/rolls-over a link, the picture displayed to the right changes.

You can see what I mean here.

I'm guessing this is something I'd use Flash for, but I'm a complete beginner and I'm not sure where to start. If someone could point me towards a good online tutorial, a book, or suggest the best way to do this I'd appreciate it.
        • 1. How do I do this?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          If you look around the forums, there's very recent (today) postings in them about books you might consider and some tutorials too.

I started a tutorial of my own for you, but decided it could be too long winded to try to include here. So try out a tutorial and then if you have problems post them and you're sure to get help.

You could also look thru the Flash help file (Getting Started section might be a good place) and seek information about creating buttons and movieclips. They often provide some very simple examples that you can probably quickly get the hang of.

If you only end up confused, I can create a simple example file and make it available for you to download and scrutinize. If so, let me know what version of Flash and Actionscript you plan to use (AS 3.0 is the latest and is different from its predecessors).
          • 2. Re: How do I do this?
            Badly Drawn Boy Level 1
            I really appreciate your response. Tomorrow morning I'll check into some of the tutorials or help files of Flash (I'm using CS3) and see if I can make sense of it.

I really appreciate your offer to make a sample file! I may very well take you up on that.
            • 3. Re: How do I do this?