13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2017 11:36 AM by Thom Parker

Extract Pages from comma delimited list and

john xavierp31930688

I am working with really large (numbers of pages) pdfs.  I know of two ways to extract non-sequential pages: right-click from either the page view OR the organize pages view.

The problem is that I want to extract many different non-sequential pages (could be 200 pages out of 1100).  I keep a list of all pages indexed in EXCEL (don't ask...that's just what we are doin right now ) .  Anyway, as part of that process I use EXCEL to identify which pages will be extracted (and sent to third parties) from the larger *.pdf file.  Because of that, I can easily using EXCEL VBA create a comma delimited list of which pages to extract from the *.pdf file.

My problem is I am a complete novice at Javascript.  So right now, I have to open up Adobe and hold the CNTRL key while I scroll thru and try and select dozens (if not hundreds) of non-sequential page for extraction.  One slip and I have to start over again.

I just want to be able to feed (could be copy-paste) a list of comma-delimited page number to Adobe and have it extract those pages to one *.pdf.   My thought is that a javascript in Adobe would have a variable assigned to the pages to be extracted, say N=1,2,4,54,23,45,198,543.  So that using excel, I could just copy paste my VBA comma-delimited string of pages to extract output right in for "N" in the Adobe javascipt and then run the javascript.

Can anyone help me?

• 1. Re: Extract Pages from comma delimited list and
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can do it like this:

- Create a new file (app.newDoc)

- Import the pages from the old files into the new one (insertPages method of the Document object)

- Delete the first, empty page of the new file (deletePages method)

- Save the new file under a new name (saveAs method)