Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating Null from 3D tracked point

Community Beginner ,
Nov 17, 2017 Nov 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello All,

I'm a novice with After Effects so your patience with my ignorance is greatly appreciated. I am trying to attach some nulls to 5 separate points on my footage. From each of these 5 points, I wish to generate a beam that leads to some text. I have analyzed the 3D tracking camera, clicked on tracking point(s) and selected "Create Null and Camera". I've done this before without issue in other projects but for some reason, the null object is not being attached to the item and instead the null is placed outside of my 1920X1080 composition space. Screen shots below.

Any ideas why this happening?

Screen Shot 2017-11-17 at 11.54.27 AM.pngScreen Shot 2017-11-17 at 11.55.10 AM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Nov 18, 2017 Nov 18, 2017

Okay - I have found a solution. The problem with my clip is that it was imported from Premiere Pro. The footage was reversed in Premiere Pro before bringing it over which I guess can cause issues. My solution was to export the reversed clip as an mp4, import it back into Premiere Pro, then "Replace with after effects clip". This allowed me to keep my 3D track my 3d footage on the active camera.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Something might be screwy with your track. What sort of lens size is it guessing?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello - where would I find that information? Thanks!!

Votes