• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What does is this binary code mean %âãÏÓ, missing from some files

New Here ,
Dec 01, 2017 Dec 01, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I work as a support engineer and get some customer files where the second entry is missing in text rendition of the PDF file.   When I replace it with the entry as shown below, the PDF file behaves as it should with our product.  This is what is missing sometimes - %âãÏÓ

If I save the file, then open the PDF file up again in Adobe Pro and save it, the PDF file works as expected.  We have some files from a customer that are created by Microsoft Reporting Services 10.0.0.0. 

My question is what is that second line of binary code for?  Also, if it is not there, what is the significance?

%PDF-1.6

%âãÏÓ

TOPICS
General troubleshooting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 01, 2017 Dec 01, 2017

It's actually not doing anything: The '%' at the beginning of the line marks anything following this '%' as a comment, so any PDF processor will skip over this line. The reason it's there is to force any application that tries to sense if the file contains binary data into binary mode. Some of these applications that try to sense if a file is plain text or binary only look at the first few hundreds (or tens) of characters, so by having non-ASCII text in the second line, such an application will

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied