4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2017 11:42 AM by ralphmce

First-time InDesign Plugin Developer - Some basic questions

ralphmce

Hello All,

I'm an experienced plugin developer for Adobe products but am new to InDesign. I've downloaded the InDesign plugin_sdk_125.zip, extracted it and compiled the sample plugins, I've got some newbie questions :

1. When I placed the debug builds into the Plugins folder InDesign said I needed a debug build of InDesign to run them. Seriously? Do I have to get a special build for debugging? The release build plugins ran OK, or some of them, only tested a few so far. Am I missing something really obvious as to why the debug one's failed?

2. On the SDK download page there were links to both the 2017 SDK and 2018 SDK. Can I assume if I work to the 2017 SDK the plugins will work in 2018. I don't need to build a version of my plugin per binary do I?

Excuse the super-newbie questions.

Thanks

R

• 1. Re: First-time InDesign Plugin Developer - Some basic questions
          Manan Joshi Level 4

Hey Ralph,

Welcome to the community of InDesign plugin development. Well your questions are justified as they seem to confuse a person when starting. So here are the answers

• InDesign application is shipped with a special version called the debug build for developers. This build is really helpful while debugging as it gives a lot more debugging help like asserts on things coded wrong or failing stuff. This aids in the development process. You can get hold of the debug build by joining the prerelease program. With all this said, if one is decently experienced with plugin development of InDesign he can always debug his code using the release version of InDesign (the version that is released for all to use). You just need to build your plugins with debug symbols generated. However if you are stuck on an issue that seems to be beyond your comprehension, debug build of InDesign would surely aid in debugging such issue.