Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Blending in objects with different colors

Community Beginner ,
Dec 25, 2017 Dec 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Heya!
I'm really a beginner with PS and only recently started using it to create a few images of everyday objects as if they were turned into gold.

I first select the items out of the picture, then I add a solid color layer with a light yellow color and set it's mode to "color", then I add a curves layer for the shine.

The object itself looks not bad, and I don't really need any more detail, but it just seems like it doesn't blend in well, and very easily noticed to be edited.

This is probably a super common question, but I was wondering how can I make it seem as if it was natural, to blend in with the background more.

I'll attach links to 2 edited images that i've made, so you can take a look at what I mean.

I just can't put my finger on what's wrong, I believe it's something with the lighting, and if so - how can I fix it?

Thanks in advance!

Gyazo - 43ee5dbbf711131047db43b3e2acf08b.jpg

Gyazo - dc29841b9bbf2a150a80823b0f748513.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 25, 2017 Dec 25, 2017

Yes, I remember you from this thread yesterday

Re: Gold-ify objects

Using the Colour blend mode has some limitations, and is not my preferred method, as it depends on the tonal value of the underlying layer.  Where the layer below is full black, and full white, the color overlay is not working.

You can extend the colour into the shadow areas by using a Hue/Saturation layer, and checking Colourize, and adjusting the saturation and lightness sliders

To get colour into the highlight area, you need to

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied