4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2017 5:57 AM by Test Screen Name

password protected pdfs

Ali79

Sorry but I couldnt find how to add a new comment onto this discussion that I  posted a few days ago.  Sorry for the absence but been dealing with a close relative who is undergoing Chemotherapy at the moment.  After a short breather.. here I am again.  So my original post was this:

Hi I am new  this forum and I am by no means an expert in all things computer. I have Adobe reader on my laptop using with Windows 10.  Somewhere along the line I have asked for all PDFs to be password protected, but can't remember where or when. I don't have acrobat on my PC just reader. So what has happened recently, is that every time I scan a document into my PC via ( Not another PDF scanner) and save it, it demands a password when opening. I have sent  it to myself to check and this always happens. Same when I send it to anyone else, the document demands a password.  If I use my husbands PC and same software no problem I scan in save to a pen drive and no password required to open. So I have eliminated the scanning issue, you can't do this in the scanner program. I have looked at all the usual help on the internet but it seems that I can only remove this password in  Adobe Acrobat which I don't have. I vaguely recall doing something ages ago but I think that was in Firefox. So hope someone out there can help. Please note I am not over technical, I can follow simple instructions but when people start saying " go into file line such and such" I am lost.