6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2008 4:32 AM by timbronze

Flex Item Renderers for a Nuub

timbronze
      Hello - I am a bit of a newbie to flex and I am wanting to display a custom itemRenderer based on the value in an XMLList which is used to populate the datagrid.

My XML looks something like this...

<list>
      <item>
      <name>John</name>
      <tel>234234</tel>
      <status>9</status>
      </item>
      <item>
      <name>Ann</name>
      <tel>234</tel>
      <status>4</status>
      </item>
      <item>
      <name>James</name>
      <tel>111</tel>
      <status>1</status>
      </item>
      </list>

Basically, in the third column of my DataGrid i am going to be showing a custom itemRenderer based on the "status" of that item ... any tips on how to do this in mxml / actionscriptyness?

My DataGrid is assigned a dataprovider in the form of an XML list which is obtained via a HTTPService call and all the data goes in correctly. I just need to populate this itemrenderer based on the status of each row... HELP!

I have seen some examples on the interweb of various different ways of writing itemRenderers all looking very different so am confused about how to go about writing a simple one. All I basically need it to do is, if say the status is 3 then show a button and a text label in the "cell" while if the status is say 5 show just a label. Nothing too complicated!
        • 1. Re: Flex Item Renderers for a Nuub
          SujitG Level 2
          Hi,

When you assign a custom itemRenderer for a column in DataGrid, property named "data" will be assigned the object (item node in your XML) corresponding that particular row in the DataGrid. So in your item renderer you can override this property setter function and do required computation. Please find sample code attached code. In the sample below in the item renderer, which is a Button component; I am setting the Button label to value in the "status" node of the XML.

Hope this helps.