6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2018 11:58 AM by adamr73245379

trouble with an if/then statement script

adamr73245379

hello, i am new to acrobat javascript but have been managing pretty well following forum advice i have found for each topic i have come across until now. I am trying to populate a field with an if/then statement. I have employee names that I want to be populated into a certain field when the adjacent field has the 4 digit employee number entered into it. I found an old thread but no matter what I tried, i can not get the script to work. Here is what I have so far. For reference, Emp.0 is the employee number field and NameRow.0 is the employee name field. I have the following formula plugged in to the custom calculation script of the NameRow.0 field. Employee numbers range from 0190 to 7xxx so i didnt know if have a leading zero in the employee number is throwing anything off either for the first two i was trying to get to work.

var v1 = +getField("Emp.0").value;  

if (v1 === 0190) event.value = "jane doe"; 

if (v1 === 0210) event.value = "john smith";

I have also tried this formula but had it pasted into the NameRow.0 calculation script.

var v1 = +event.value;

var f2 = getField("NameRow.0");

if (v1 === 0190) f2.value = "jane doe";

if (v1 === 0210) f2.value = "john smith"

I am also hoping that when no employee number is listed or one is removed, the name field will return or stay empty.

Thanks,

Adam

• 1. Re: trouble with an if/then statement script
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

It would make more sense to do something like this:

var v1 = getField("Emp.0").valueAsString; 

if (v1 === "0190") event.value = "jane doe";

if (v1 === "0210") event.value = "john smith";

Or better yet, use something like the following as the custom Validate script of the Emp.0 field:

// Create an object to associate employee numbers with names

var oEmpNumName = {

"0190" : "Jane Doe",

"0210" : "John Smith",