Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Make a mock-up of 3D box

New Here ,
Jan 23, 2018 Jan 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HI folks:

I'm a beginner in AE. I'm trying to make an educational "explainer" for a new product my organization created. I created the product packaging in PS and ID with a little bit of AI. I also used PS to create a simulated box with drop shadow to use on our brochures and such.

I would like to try and figure out how to make a 3D model of this box and be able to create a little 3d animation with it in AE. It's essentially just a rectangle package. But I'd like to be able to create a 3d version (mock-up) and then to be able to maybe zoom/PAN in and around the box, perhaps rotate the box in 3D to show front and back.

Is there a way, in AE, that I can model this? Create a 3D BOX, add front/back/top/bottom/side textures (jpg/png), thrown in a little lighting perhaps and animate it in AE? (We are a non-profit and don't have a bazillion dollars. I see that there's "Cinema 4D", but that seems such overkill and far outside any budget.) There's got to be a simpler, less expensive way.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

StocKar---Mach-Up.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jan 23, 2018 Jan 23, 2018

C4D lite comes with your After effects subscription. you could definitely create this very easily with C4D lite and have this as a C4D layer in Ae with textures, lights and what not. here's a very nice free course (only need to register) about it:

https://cineversity.com/vidplaylist/cinema_4d_lite_reference

and you could do this with After effects but it will take a while to setup and you won't have too much flexibility with the appearance of your 3d box (the edges for example). you would need cr

Votes

Translate