7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2008 9:51 PM by ronnickname

Is Director dying?

hkrabye
      I was a Director developer and user for many years (and started with VideoWorks in 90's), but when Adobe bought MacroMedia, it looked like they stopped developing Director. There was no promis of an OSX and Intel Mac version. A few days ago, I discovered that they have finally updated both Director and the Shockwave plugin for Intel Mac. Great! However, when searching for info about Director 11 on the Adobe site, it was very hard to find the app. It's not included in the "Products" tab, not even in the "All products" collection... (I found it at last, by using the search box.)

My question is: Is Director a dying product? I would like to upgrade from my Director 9 version, but spending almost USD 300 on a product that will soon be killed, is not a good idea. - I guess Adobe has much more success with Flash, and they want all of us to purchase Flash. - What do you think (I don't expect any response from Adobe, of course...)
        • 1. Re: Is Director dying?
          Level 7
          Adobe have publicly stated that they are working on the next version
          (D12). They haven't committed to a release date or feature set and
          probably won't (publicly)
          • 2. Re: Is Director dying?
            mziskandar Level 1
            My opinion is... YES. Director is dying...

Adobe is a company that focusing on 2D graphics and they are good at it (at least, last time). Nowadays, when they come out with CS3 version, their product requires more power from the computers - I wonder why. It is acceptable if there are more extra requirement to do extra function at the moment of that extra being used. eg. I want to draw a simple box in Photoshop using CS3 - I still need better computers compared to before (CS2)!