5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2009 6:20 AM by FlexNewbie2009

Flex/AIR + Java Integration

FlexNewbie2009
      Hello everyone,

I am a Flex+AIR newbie and just wonder if it's possible to develop a layered FLEX/AIR application where only the presentation layer is built in Flex and the business logic / DB access layer is Java. But not in a web or J2EE context with a remote server.

The scenario I have in mind is the following:

1. A Flex application is deployed on the user's local machine via AIR.
      2. The user starts the application. So far so good.
      -----------------------------------------------
      3. On startup the application performs a method call on a Java class located on the user's local machine's class path.
      4. The method call triggers a multithreaded Java engine to get started.
      5. The Flex app "talks" to the Java engine and vice versa.

Several questions arise here:

a: How can a Flex app "speak" to Java classes? Is it possible at all?
      b: I heard of a "RemoteObject" tag. Is this the way to go?
      c: Can a Flex app start a process on the local machine (e.g. a JVM)?
      d: Is it possible to deploy the Java JAR file "piggy-back" with the Flex/AIR app?

Or e: Maybe I am on a totally wrong track. Can anybody suggest a better solution?

It should be possible since Bruce Eckel of Adobe writes: "However, a Flex UI is not limited to communicating with a server. It can also communicate with a local application. Thus, you can create an application in any language you prefer, even a dynamic language like Python or Ruby, and use Flex to build a beautiful UI." ( http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/articles/hybridizing_java_08.html)

Thanks in advance!

Best Regards,
      Phil
        • 1. Re: Flex/AIR + Java Integration
          BB_Cool Level 1
          I have the exact same needs but after voicing the need for the ability to invoke a Java class for a year I still haven't heard a definitive answer.