• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cannot Preview Video

New Here ,
Feb 18, 2018 Feb 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Alright, so, this is my very first time using After Effects, and I have little knowledge using any of the Adobe software I have just purchased, so I have pretty much no idea what anything means here. I was ready to start learning how to make things in After Effects but... something wasn't right. While in every tutorial I looked at, the video would show in the preview area after it was put into the timeline, or at the very least, a black box was shown, I would only see either the two options for "New Composition" or "New Composition from Footage," which I could not click on, or, if I was lucky, a gray screen. When I press play for the preview, I can hear the audio for the footage, but the video is still not there. I really don't know much at all about what a lot of the options mean, but I have been trying everything that I have seen suggested to others who have had similar problems, so it is very possible that I have made things worse, unfortunately.

Now, one thing that I do know is that this seems very similar to an issue I had with Photoshop where I could not see the image I was trying to edit and, once again, I only saw a gray screen. I don't really remember how I fixed the issue, as I was just so relieved to have it working that I didn't think much of it, and honestly I didn't understand what it meant, but I am pretty sure it had to do with me turning off the "Use Graphics Processor" setting, if that would make sense. I tried to use this to come up with something, but nothing that seems similar has worked.