• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What is the best way to learn Adobe Photoshop?

New Here ,
Feb 24, 2018 Feb 24, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When I first decided to learn Photoshop, I bought a book. I believe Photoshop was then at version 3 (that's long before Creative Suite, and before The Internet As We Now Know It™ existed).

I no longer recall the name of the book, but it was something like 800-plus pages packed with textbook-like information…colour theory, what each tool did and lots more in mind-numbingly intensive detail). I gained little from it except a giant headache and a deep frustration that Photoshop was such a vast universe it would be impossible to ever master it.

I was wrong.

A year or so later, I was fortunate enough to receive on-the-job training from certified Photoshop experts (I was a journalist with a newspaper at the time, and we were just transitioning to editorial staff taking on the responsibility for page design). Suddenly, in the context of the publishing workflow and what needed to be done, it all made sense.

The reason for the long preamble is this: When you say you want to learn Photoshop from scratch, the question has to be asked…What are you going to use Photoshop for? Advertising graphics? Print publishing? Web design? Comic book illustration? Glamour retouching?

The answer to that question will dictate the approach you should take. For someone just learning the program, Photoshop can seem overwhelming, so start off with manageable chunks. There is so much to learn that even advanced users are constantly picking up new things [link to Amazon removed by moderator] Thus this is one of my design that I did with Photoshop.

The best approach to take—in my opinion—is this: