• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

False Mounts

Participant ,
Feb 28, 2018 Feb 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been having issues for years regarding "False Mounts" and LightRoom getting confused on the location of my EXT HDD under MacOS. After many support threads and Adobe Remote customer support sessions, I have discovered the issue is due to "False Mounts". It is an issue that affects LightRoom and other Adobe applications because of the way they depend on the Volume structure in locating sources and destinations within the workflow.

I am no expert, but there is no doubt that False Mounts were creating many issues over time that no one seemed to consider. I just wanted to sum up my discoveries as it has been a real sore spot in my workflow.

What are False Mounts?

A False Mount is a folder left on the boot volume, which interferes with the normal moun9ng of external disks and network volumes.False Mounts are typically created

when an applica9on or running process writes data to an external volume after an unexpected unmount. For external drives or network drives, unmounts could be caused by any abrupt disconnec9on of a disk’s connection: a  power failure, a computer crash, or a user unexpectedly disconnecting an external drive could all result in a False Mount’s creation.

In my case, I have dedicated drives for Photos, Music, Movies, etc and over time from forced restarts to improper dismounts, I had been collecting quite a few False Mounts.

How do I determine if I have any False Mounts?

In the MacOS Finder, press Shift+Cmd+G (⇧⌘G)

Then type "/Volumes" (without the quotations) into the Go to pane.

Press Return key

Look for folders with names which match an external drive or network volume. Such as if you have an external attached drive entitled LaCie and in the /Volumes list you see:

LaCie

LaCie 1

That LaCie 1 is a false mount (unless you also have a drive named LaCie 1)