Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Let user decide which structured application to use for xml-file import

New Here ,
Mar 02, 2018 Mar 02, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys,

I am fairly new to the FrameMaker-scripting-thing. I basically have a folder, full of .xml files that shall be opened with a structured application and then be saved as a .fm file. I can already do that but I have to manually tell FrameMaker which structured application to use (as in How do I load an XML file, and save it as an fm file). But I can't really say which one should be used. I'd rather have the user specify the application once for the first file (maybe even open the dialog that can be seen when manually opening a .xml-file) and use it for the rest of the files as well.

Pseudo-Code:

var structApp = ChooseStructApp();

openXmlFile(filePath, structApp);

Does anyone know how to do anything like that?

Kind regards,

Tom

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Tom,

Before we get into the scripting part. Why do you need to manually tell FrameMaker which XML app to use? Is it because they all use the same Doctype, but use different schemas or DTDs?

This is the problem we get with S1000D for example. in that case it is indeed necessary to query the XML before it is opened by the relevant FrameMaker XML application.

The way I have dome that is to open the file first with ExtendScript, check the value of the xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation attribute, or perhaps some element in the structure that is unique to the DTD.

Ian

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,