3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2008 7:11 PM by J.Rocker

flash player / bandwidth stats for developing coutries

stephan.k Level 1
      Hello Forum

I am developing a website that will be viewed in countries with high bandwidth as well as lower bandwidth (mostly countries in South / Central America and South East Asia). I'm trying to settle on the appropriate technology (flash vs html) or see how complex / fancy we can get without neglecting the audience with slower connections and possibly older flash players (or no flash players).

Are there people on this list who have experience developing these kinds of sites?

Any general insights and leads to statistics is much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

stephank
        • 1. Re: flash player / bandwidth stats for developing coutries
          J.Rocker Level 1
          Hey!

I am by no means an expert but i'll try and help you anyway.

http://www.adobe.com/products/player_census/flashplayer/

Those are adobe's statistics, look around a bit. They say emerging markets and by that they mean China, S. Korea, Russia, India and Taiwan.. so you judge.

http://www.swivel.com/data_columns/spreadsheet/3822292

that's an estimate of the number of computers in countries around the world.. which is pretty useless data unless you believe you can judge the capabilities of those computers based off how common they are.

That's just my attempt at finding you some statistics. Personally, I've had tons of experiences where i presented work in flash on computers that just couldn't handle very simple tweens. So, i'd be hesitant to use flash depending on the situation. If your site is intended to sell something that's worth a considerable amount of money then i'd go ahead and go with flash, but if it's a service like.. well you know, UNICEF, then i'd probably use HTML. That's just my opinion, you know?

Good luck with your site, and i hope you can find some better data.

Thanks,
          John