5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 25, 2008 6:05 AM by MergeThis

Indents on Web Help not working as I expected

shalw
      Remember, I am new to all this, so if this is dumb - pls don't laugh too hard!

I imported a couple of documents from Word into RH7 for HTML. That went fine, created a skin - fine, TOC - fine. Problem comes when I try to view my published results. Each topic has a section at the top that has tab indents (created in Word, but looks fine in the RH developer).When I view the results in IE, they look pretty good, if I do say so myself, but in Firefox or Safari - the indents are all over the place - they are not even consistently in the wrong place.
      The company I am writing this for prides themselves on being platform independant, but this is not so far.

What can I do, to get the indents to work consistently?

I tried to show you an example here, but couldn't even get that to work!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Thanks
      Sharon
        • 1. Re: Indents on Web Help not working as I expected
          Captiv8r Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          Hi Sharon

Have you tried inserting the content into a Table? You could then hide the outlines leaving only the text.

My thought here is that the table may make the appearance more consistent.

Cheers... Rick
          • 2. Re: Indents on Web Help not working as I expected
            HKabaker Level 2
            For another approach, delete all the indents from the imported text and insert indents with RH techniques. Even then, you must take care to be consistent in the way you apply indents.

Also important is whether the text begins with a different style -- bold, for example. Be consistent in the way you highlight text to be modified. If you end up with just one ot two problems, look at the html code in RH, comparing the correct and incorrect tagging.

Otherwise, I agree with Rick on creating tables in RH and moving text into a the appropriate cell for consistent spacing.