4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2008 8:38 AM by Rothrock

Generating random number...

FreddyU
      Hi,
      I am using:

Math.round(Math.random()*100);

to create a random number 1 to 100... or actually is it 0-100? Sorry, I think it's 0-100. ;-) Anyways... is there any way to make it so it never repeats a number? I'm only 15, and I really don't have any experience with this, so... please bear with me! The only thing I could think of was adding the numbers to an array as they came up. Then if a random number was created that was already in the array, it would create another random number instead. Like I said, I am not really experienced here, so that's probably an absurd solution. There might not even be a way to accomplish this at all!

What I'm really doing is working on a "Price is Right" game with my friends... just for fun and to work on my Flash/Actionscript skills for use on more useful things. :-) So, to bring up a random product for the user(s) to guess the price of, I was thinking of doing something like this:

product = Math.round(Math.random()*100);

if(product = 0) {
      price = 399;
      product0._visible = true;
      }

if(product = 1) {
      price = 1200;
      product1._visible = true;
      }

etc. etc.

That brings me to another question. Is there an elseif in Actionscript? It doesn't seem like it because it doesn't turn blue when I type it. What do I put? Can I just do if if if over and over again?

But do you see my problem? I don't want people guessing the price of a blender two times in a game if the number 32 comes up twice!

If you can think of a solution here or a different way to achieve anything I'm trying to do here, let me know!

Thanks!!!
        • 1. Re: Generating random number...
          clbeech Level 3