3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2018 10:05 PM by tjhemingway

Probelm with Animation - Eyes

tjhemingway

Hi there!

I am brand new to animation as well as Character Animator.  I have been tasked with creating animated characters for our HR department.  I created the first one today as a demo and I am having trouble with the right eye.  It is doing odd shape shifting.  I thought I had it set the same as the left but it just won't work correctly.  Any advice?  I have researched the forum and watched numbers of videos on YouTube but haven't been able to fix it.

There is one other smaller issue, too, and that is when it is "talking", there are some dead spots where no mouth shows up.  What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance. Any assistance is appreciated. I tried to figure out myself but just keep going around in circles. A screenshot of the eye is attached and a link to the files on Creative Cloud is also provided.  Thanks again!

eye_issue.png

https://adobe.ly/2ESFhqf

• 1. Re: Probelm with Animation - Eyes
          alank99101739 Level 4

Hi. The easiest way for others to have a look is if you use the "Export/Puppet" menu item to create a ".puppet" file. That has all the triggers, behaviors, etc. (not just the artwork).

The most common problems are things like "Independence" not being set up right (the leading "+" sign in the layer name), the layer names not being right (e.g. spelling error) causing the auto-tagging to not work, or the hierarchy not being set up correctly. Sharing the puppet or a screenshot of the puppet hierarchy is the easiest way for people to help.

In this case I imported the PSD file and am guessing you have not made any adjustments to the settings from this. Suggestions:

Rename "Mouth" to "+Mouth" to make it independent. This will stop distorting the head when the mouth moves.

Rename "Left Eye" to "+Left Eye" (and the same for the right eye) for the same reason. And "Left Eyebrow" to "+Left Eyebrow".