Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Rotoscoping over a music video

New Here ,
Apr 17, 2018 Apr 17, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to teaching animation.

I had my students rotoscope over a music video, each student was assigned certain frames and we then shared our artwork to make it a collaborate project.

I am having trouble exporting the video along with the rotoscoped artwork. I want my video to show and play with the artwork because the whole area is not filled with artwork.

I read somewhere to combine the video and rotoscoping in After Effects but am not sure how to do that.

Any suggestions on how to save this project that has already been completed.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 17, 2018 Apr 17, 2018

One thing to watch for, which I'm not sure applies to AE, but it might, is that you have to tell it to interpret the footage as having an alpha channel. In some video editing programs it defaults to ignoring the alpha. So, if your first attempt looks opaque, look around for an option like that.

I went ahead and tested that. AE does have interpret footage, and there are some alpha channel options you might need to try. I often suspect Animate of exporting with premultiplied alpha, and that's what

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Did you create this project in Animate or AfterEffects? If it was created in Animate then read through this help file, exporting to video is the last section: Export graphics and videos with Animate CC

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied