• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Dissolve from video to still image - how?

Contributor ,
Apr 22, 2018 Apr 22, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a simple project with old video footage without sound and some still images in jpeg.

I've put a series of still images at the start of the sequence, then some video clips with one still image somewhere in the middle between two video clips.

I've selected (somehow, I am a newbie so I don't recall exactly how I did all of them at once) everything and added the default (dissolve) transition. That has worked everywhere except for where the video clip is followed by a still. I've found on the net that this is normal behaviour for Premiere Pro, but I haven't found a way to get around this (there must be one). For once, my video material doesn't have 'unused bits at the start and the end, the 'handles') and the explanations I have found sometimes make use of that.

So, I'm turning to the forum myself: how can I get a dissolve from a video clip to a still clip? What steps do I need to follow?

I'm using CC on a Mac.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 22, 2018 Apr 22, 2018

Hi ! please see attached video ...

01. use automate to sequence but be careful to select your clips using the command key in the order you want them to be on the timeline.. you can also set the durations and other parameters in the pop up panel after automating to sequence...

02. trim a bit to have enough frames at the end of a video to dissolve with the still image after ... right click after selecting all video clips in the project panel,

choose duration in the project panel and reduce it by 1