8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2008 7:17 AM by factorypolaris

Doing Math In Action Script

factorypolaris
      Hello,

I am very new to Flex so this is going to be very simple for somebody.

I am trying to do some math calculations in a Flex App. Here is the function. Called with a change handler.

private function addAllUp(evt:Event):void {
      unitInput1.text = (quantityInput1.text * priceInput1.text);
      }

unitInput1, quantityInput1 and priceInput1 are all text input fields. I have it spelled out what I am trying to accomplish in plain english now but I have attempted many variations including Number() with no success. The input fields will always be a number. Im not sure if I am supposed to import somthing to make math work?? I have seached for a long time with no success, I would really appreciate any help.

Thanks,
      Chris
        • 1. Re: Doing Math In Action Script
          Level 7

"ItsJustMeHereManb" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:g8f8el$9i6$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > Hello,
          >
          > I am very new to Flex so this is going to be very simple for somebody.
          >
          > I am trying to do some math calculations in a Flex App. Here is the
          > function.
          > Called with a change handler.
          >
          > private function addAllUp(evt:Event):void {
          > unitInput1.text = (quantityInput1.text * priceInput1.text);
          > }
          >
          > unitInput1, quantityInput1 and priceInput1 are all text input fields. I
          > have
          > it spelled out what I am trying to accomplish in plain english now but I
          > have
          > attempted many variations including Number() with no success. The input
          > fields
          > will always be a number. Im not sure if I am supposed to import somthing
          > to
          > make math work?? I have seached for a long time with no success, I would