8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2009 11:33 PM by JohnConn

Problems with one of the lessons

donduck1972
      I sent a private message but after I sent it I realized that didn't give you anyway to respond to me.

First let me start by saying, I'm not a developer, I'm a Business Analyst but I'm trying to learn as much about as I can about FLEX.

I'm working on the lesson about "Using Remote Object to Send Data to the Server". I when to the website in the instructions and looked for LCDS ES Express but I could not find it. I did some looking around and found out that the LCDS ES express is the same thing as the LCDS ES ( the one for 1 cpu) I down loaded it and installed it. It doesn't give me an option for JRun, the only choices I have are J2EE and Tomcat. I chose J2EE. Then I downloaded the server. The \jrun\server\default path did not exist in the lcds folder on C:, so I created it. Bottom line I cannot start the the server.

I'm sure I have messed something (or several somethings) up, please help.
        • 1. Re: Problems with one of the lessons
          ibmaris
          I had the same problem. The answer and link to what you need is provided in the topic entitled, "Week 3, Exercise 2 - JRun??"
          • 2. Re: Problems with one of the lessons
            rsadwick
            The problem is the lesson was created with an older version... which at the time, it was the new version.

Make sure when you install LCDS, choose the Tomcat option. This will install the server application. Follow these steps below. I wrote these instructions in another post but this hopefully help you and others who struggled with that specific chapter.

If you're using the new version LiveCycle Data Services ES 2.6, you'll have to adjust a few things:

When you install LCDS, click the Tomcat option and continue with the installation.

Instead of unzipping to C:\lcds\jrun4\servers\default.. use this folder to unzip the server.zip file instead:

C:\lcds\tomcat\webapps\odt