8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2009 11:11 PM by ntsiii

Local/Global Scope

eseneca
      Hello,

I am new to Flex coming from a VB.net background. I am trying to define a class that can be accessed via the main application and any modules or pop-up windows that I may create. I want this for tracking and passing values between the scopes. Is there some guide on how to pass information between modules/popups and the main application?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Local/Global Scope
          rtalton Level 4
          Hi,
          If you are thinking of storing variables in a global class, you'll get a lot of feedback from most Flex developers urging you not to. The best practice is to define custom events and listeners (event handlers) to facilitate communication between modules/popups and the main app.
          Say if you have a popup open. When closed, it can dispatch a custom event which can store any information you want it to. Back in the main app, a "listener" handles that event, reading in any data it needs to and taking any necessary actions.
          Check the help docs for great tips about dispatching custom events under the section on custom components:
          http://livedocs.adobe.com/flex/3/html/help.html?content=mxmlcomponents_advanced_4.html

Here's a simple example to get you started:
          http://www.iotashan.com/index.php/2008/03/19/shans-simple-examples-using-events-aka-how-to -pass-data-from-components/

Happy Flex Year!
          • 2. Re: Local/Global Scope
            eseneca Level 1
            Thanks for the reply, I think I understand what is going on via the events. Let me give that a try...
            • 3. Local/Global Scope
              eseneca Level 1
              I see how to make the application pass information. Do you have an example of passing information back from the popup window to the application? Do I add an eventListener to the main application?
              • 4. Re: Local/Global Scope
                rtalton Level 4