Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Splitting Text Frame By Paragraph Style

Community Beginner ,
Jun 18, 2018 Jun 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm quite new to InDesign. I'm having some difficulties with a problem.

I've considered and tried a few approaches. I'm not sure where I'm going wrong / which approach is best (or possible).

---ISSUE---

I'm trying to extract product details from Text Frames in an InDesign product catalog file, so that they can be modified and then replaced.

The file was put together by a third party.

The information for each product is in a single text frame. Paragraph styles were used to apply the styles to sections within the frame. (title, description, table headers)

---EXAMPLE---                                                 ______________________

<Name>REWRITABLE MARKERS                |                                                |

FOR DRY ERASE BOARDS</Name>           |             WHITE SPACE           |

<Desc> Low odour, non-toxic, fine             |             RESERVED                 |

point markers. Each marker cap                 |              FOR IMAGE               |

included a built in magnet.</desc>           |______________________|

<header> PRODUCTNUMBER          DESCRIPTION          UNIT          PRICE </header>

<line>      000-000-000                         Assorted Colours     6/PK          4.99</line>

The <> tags being the start and end of paragraph styles.

---APPROACH 1--- (splitting content string)

Initially, I thought I would be able to just get the contents and split the string by line breaks to get the contents of each section.

This worked, but the line breaks aren't where I expected.

(The first line break in the initial frame I examined was after the first line of the description style, so it includes the name and the start of the description... Not sure why)

So I don't think this will work for my needs.