• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Premiere CC 2018 & Windows 10: do drive letters matter?

Engaged ,
Jun 22, 2018 Jun 22, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Windows, and just realized the external drive I've been using for a project, with all clips, has been getting assigned different letters by the OS. Just checked, and Premiere thinks the clips are in an "I" drive, but actually now it's an "H" drive. But clips are labeled "online" in Premiere.

So does Premiere figure this out and always find the drive? Will try to keep the drive letter the same now, but just wondering if it's a non-issue at this point or not.

In a current project, my clips show status of "online, but the path of many of my proxies leads to wrong drive letter; I want to be sure that all proxies are properly connected.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jun 22, 2018 Jun 22, 2018

Drive letters matter.  They're part of the file name.

That's partly why I recommend only using externals for backup and archiving.  Run your projects exclusively from internal drives.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Drive letters matter.  They're part of the file name.

That's partly why I recommend only using externals for backup and archiving.  Run your projects exclusively from internal drives.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Mentor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I agree with Jim.