• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I record everything in just one slide?

New Here ,
Mar 18, 2008 Mar 18, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I’m trying to create an 30-second flash animation of our software, with some textual callouts. Since I’ve got the Adobe Technical Communication Suite, I figured I’d use Captivate for the job, but I’m new to it and can’t get my head around some things. If someone has the time to point me in the right direction, I’d appreciate it. I have tried checking the help and rummaging through forums, but still can’t get it to work the way I want.

I’m using the “Full Motion Recording” mode, since our software is pretty interactive in real-time and I want to show that. All I want is to do is record about 30 seconds of me using our software, and afterwards add text callouts here and there, before exporting to an .swf file.

Question 1: Captivate automatically chops up my recording into several “slides”, is there a way to make it put everything in just one slide? Or set the default time of a slide in order to get my entire recording in one single slide? The problem is, if I want to place a callout just between two slides… well, I can’t do that right? I just want one and the same timeline for my entire recording.

Question 2: After the recording is done, is there a way to adjust the speed, or pause, certain segments of the recording? For example, if I realize that the viewer of my flash video needs a couple of seconds longer to read a certain callout, I want to “pause” or “extend” that point in the timeline for a bit. Can I do that, or do I need to record the entire thing from the beginning and actually pause myself at the appropriate time?

I’d be thankful for all advice and suggestions. I realize I’m new to this, so any nudges in the right direction would be appreciated!

/Tom
TOPICS