Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why does Lumetri now have to render?

New Here ,
Jul 09, 2018 Jul 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I have a question that is hopefully an easy fix.

I have been using PrPro for a few months and I am ok with it. Love/Hate kinda thing. I was using an A7II for a while and got some pretty ok 1080/24 shots and would film local music scenes and whatnot. I upgraded to the a6500 for the incredilbe video quality, and I tell you.. its incredible. Blew me away and still does every time I use it.

However recently I have run into an issue. When I am running a 1080 sequence. Lumetri stays yellow bar and runs smooth. Now that I am using 4K/30, Lumetri goes red and takes forever to render. Why the change when I change resolutions?

I edit in small low-res proxies and try to keep my workload to just color and editing but this extra render step has really killed my efficiency.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jul 09, 2018 Jul 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are let's see ... how many times the pixels to compute in 4k versus 1080? About 2 million versus 8.25 million?

I am assuming you're using some long-GOP format out of that camera ... and you're now requiring more than four times the work every frame for the CPU to do the required dance number: decompress one or more i-frames, store them to RAM; recall the data-set of changed pixels for the next frame, recall the appropriate one or two i-frames, compute the changed pixels, create that next frame of video, store images to RAM; recall next frame's dataset, rinse & repeat.