• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I combine my work into one object in Illustrator?

New Here ,
Jul 17, 2018 Jul 17, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

On one layer I have a black line drawing, underneath that I have another layer where I've painted to fill in the drawing with color. I want to combine those two layers so that I can manipulate them as one object.

I tried to merge them and that didn't work. I think part of the problem is that on the painted layer, I've created many different paths. I'd like to combine everything into one.

I'm very new to illustrator. More used to working in photoshop. Hopefully this makes sense.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 17, 2018 Jul 17, 2018

Just select them all - you can either use the selection tool and hold the shift key to select them all or click away and sort of marque them all until selected. You can also select from the layer panel itself, clicking at the right and holding shift if on more than one layer.

Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 5.10.42 PM.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

marykater21365055  schrieb

On one layer I have a black line drawing, underneath that I have another layer where I've painted to fill in the drawing with color. I want to combine those two layers so that I can manipulate them as one object.

Can you perhaps describe in detail what you mean by "manipulate"?

Most probably you can just group your objects and you're good.

If you want to keep different colors, you must also keep different paths for them.