Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Instructional Videos - Best Recording and output settings for Vimeo

Engaged ,
Aug 21, 2018 Aug 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

Adobe 2017 - Creating Instructional Videos that must be hosted on Vimeo and then embedded.

These are software simulations (not Video demos) that show users how to use an desktop application. Step by step instructions that help users navigate around the application and carry out common tasks.

I'm flexible on settings when recording - using windows..

I've been working with Captivate for a few years on and off and always found it a challenge to create videos that compress well and don't appear fuzzy in online streaming sites like Vimeo. I've never found a clear solution to this issue and seem to get caught in a google/youtube loop everytime I investigate it again. Surely it should not be so challenging with a tool that is designed for this exact kind of challenge?

So again, I find myself on a new project and the same issue. The video recorded as Software simulation at 1280 output to MP4 looks fine (not perfect but fine) but uploaded into vimeo -  (you dont get choice with compression on vimeo) text is not as clear, still fine on laptop. BUT when when folk dare to hit the full screen button on anything other than 14inch monitor, the text is grainy and well just unprofessional looking.

So far I've tried recording at 1280 * 720 with above results, and will now try 1920 * 1080 to improve quality. Both these resolutions are recommended by Vimeo Compression Guidelines on Vimeo​​ - but I've been down this road so many times before.

Then I guess its time to fiddle with output on MP4 to optimise output and run lots of tests. It's pretty time consuming doing these tests.

Before I do, can I ask you kind folk a few questions.

1. Has anyone come across this challenge and found a best practice?