6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2008 2:20 PM by

Basic questions

I am new to flex. I have experience with cf 7. I have the following questions. I appreciate if you can answer as I have very tight deadlines.

I am modifying an existing application and fixing the bugs. The application back end is sql server.

1) I have installed cf 8 and flex 2.2 on my workstation. I need to connect to a remote database which is sql server. How can I do it?
      2) How difficult is it to set up the working environment? If I get the code can I be able to place it on my local system and can access just like I access any cold fusion applications?
      3) Any other links or guidelines to help me get started are appreciated.

Thank you
        • 1. Re: Basic questions
          ntsiii Level 3
          1) use RemoteObject in flex to communicate with CF. Use CF to query the database, and return the data to Flex.
          2) ?? Use Flex Builder

Is this an existing Flex app? You will need to look at how it is communicating with CF.

Tracy
          • 2. Re: Basic questions
            Yes, this is an existing app. I have modify some screens. Can you please help me with the following.

1) How can i know how flex is communicating the CF?
            2) Is the application is an executable? If i need to update an existing page, what will be the page extention?
            3) I have differenciate the user role. If the user belong to admin group i need to enable or disable some buttons. How can i do it?
            4) Are there any samples to use the tab's
            5) Are there any samples step by step projects that i can use to learn more about flex?

Thank you.
            • 3. Re: Basic questions
              Garyl Woolworth Level 1