4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2008 11:35 PM by sari_zzz

Suggestions for technology/product to implement a web application?

sari_zzz
      Hi,
      I'm a software engineer, and I'm about to create a new web application that has a rich user interface.
      I'm think of using Flash-based technology to implement this UI.
      I've looked though Adobe product lineup, and have looked into Flex and Flex Builder in detail, but I'm not quite sure if this is all we need.
      Can someone please suggest an appropriate product set, or point me to a party or a resource that might be able to help me?

Specifically, the requirement is to develop a user interface that allows a user to walk around a virtual space. When the user clicks on an object in the space, a corresponding function/application is invoked, so it is quite like an online game.
      A web site that has a UI resembling the requirement would be http://www.komodomedia.co.uk/ .

It is also supposed to be customizable, allowing the customer to add additional objects to the space that links to other applications, functions, web sites, etc.

Is Flex Builder an appropriate tool, and is it all we need for such purpose?

Thank you,
      Sari
        • 1. Re: Suggestions for technology/product to implement a web application?
          Michael_Latta
          I went to the site and it is clearly Flash based (they use an SWF file for the content. The authoring is probably more like CS3 or custom action script than Flex, though they may use flex as well for some of the UI. My guess is that it is all custom flash, or possibly very themed flex/laslo.
          • 2. Re: Suggestions for technology/product to implement a web application?
            tinylion_uk Level 2
            hi mate

just had a look at the link. very nice

well, it runs with flash player and to me looks very much like it could have been created using flash and paperVision3d.

http://blog.papervision3d.org/