8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2008 11:17 AM by mac_55

Using Swfs in Flex app

mac_55 Level 1
      Hi,

I'm still fairly new to flex so bare with me. I'd like to create a user interface in my flex app with buttons that have events attached. I was thinking of doing this in flash, as I can then style my buttons, create hover events etc. and contain all of the buttons which are intented to be laid out to look quite nice graphically and then use the events in the swf to trigger actions in the flex app. Is this possible? is there a more sensible way?

Basic Idea

Flex App- contains -> SWF - contains-> Buttons - contain -> Events - point to -> Flex events

Hope that makes sense.
        • 1. Re: Using Swfs in Flex app
          camfieldaj Level 1
          The basic container in Flex is an application. When you compile the src with an mxml extension you produce a file with an swf extension that runs in the Flash player inside the browser. Yes, you can load other swf files into your application, if that's what you are asking. And I'm pretty sure that you can load swfs that are produced by Flash, but if you want to access the objects in that swf from your Flex application, well it might be easier just to do the whole thing in Flex.
          • 2. Re: Using Swfs in Flex app
            peterent Level 2
            Think about it this way:
            <mx:Button mouseOver="handleHover(event)" click="handleClick(event)" styleName="CoolButtons" />

In this Flex button definition you have your hover event (a mouseOver or you can use rollOver) and a click event as well. You write those event handler functions in ActionScript.

Notice the styleName property? This is how you can make your buttons look special. In a style CSS file:

.CoolButtons {
            upSkin=Embed(source='mySkins.swf',symbol='ButtonUpSkin');
            overSkin=Embed(source='mySkins.swf',symbol='ButtonOverSkin');
            downSkin=Embed(source='mySkins.swf',symbol='ButtonDownSkin');
            }