3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2008 7:25 AM by peterent

Complex application, need some help

USSSkipjack
      Hello everyone!
      I am fairly new to Flex, so please forgive me if my questions might be somewhat silly.
      I am currently evaluating it for use as a UI- toolkit (together with AIR, once it is released for Linux) for an imaging application.
      Now this application is rather complex and I need some answers to some general questions before I will continue looking into this:
      The app will be rather simillar to some 3d- animation applications on the market. You will have multiple viewports displaying images (these are just "normal" 2d images). These images are generated by an external C++ based renderer. The user will interact with the UI and this will cause information to be sent to the renderer, which will then create a new image that will be displayed in the viewport(s). Now for this, I of course will have to update the images in the viewports dynamically.
      This means that if the user interacts, a comunication of some sorts (I am not entirely sure yet what the best way for this is, honestly) will happen from the Flex based UI to the renderer (e.g. place camera here, rotate objects this way...). Once this is done, the renderer produces a new image and this needs to be updated in the Flex UI.
      One issue here is speed. The renderer will refresh the image up to 25 times/sec, or more if possible and this then needs to be loaded and displayed in the Flex UI at roughly the same rate, with as little delay as possible.
      E.g. the user draggs a slider to the left to rotate the camera to the left. While he does that, the renderer gets updated information and spits out images that are then updated in the viewports while he is still dragging the slider.
      You see my problem here: It needs to be very interactive and I can not preload images.