• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making sense of printing

Community Beginner ,
Oct 23, 2018 Oct 23, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a newbie, so please excuse how ridiculous this question might sound!

I've finally bitten the bullet and am going to get some of my photos printed. I've been recommended to use Loxley, but I'm at a complete loss in terms of settings and dimensions. Loxley give pretty good instructions in terms of colour calibration etc, so I think I'm sorted there. But, I'm completely clueless in terms of sizing. Can someone please point me in the right direction of a simple and beginner friendly guide for sizing, which will allow me to understand the basics and ensure I don't lose any of the image from cropping difficulties etc. I don't understand what aspect:ratio is for instance, but know it's important somehow!

Hope this question makes sense.

I am using Lightroom CC.

Thanks,

Andy

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't have a good link for this, but I'll just throw out a few points.

and ensure I don't lose any of the image from cropping difficulties

Cropping, by it's very definition, causes some of the image to be thrown away. There is no such thing as cropping where you don't throw away part of the image. (Of course, in Lightroom, you can always revert back to the uncropped image with no loss of quality or pixels)

I don't understand what aspect:ratio is for instance