5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2008 11:43 PM by etnot96

How to adding text to canvas?

etnot96
      I am doing AS3 programactically so I have a one mxml file that calls to my application.

I am running in to issues when I try to display text inside the Canvas of a view in the ViewStack(The view stack is displaying correctly with links for the navbar). See code below. What am I doing wrong? Any help is welcome!

BTW, I know I posted a lot of code but I really want some help on this as I am very new to AS3. The real meat of the code is in the AccountView class.

Thanks in Advance!

Tonté Pouncil
        • 1. Re: How to adding text to canvas?
          Peter deHaan Level 4
          etnot96,

What if you try using a Canvas or VBox container instead of a UIComponent in your AccountView?

Peter
          • 2. Re: How to adding text to canvas?
            etnot96 Level 1
            Peter, first of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond. Thanks!

AccountView extends View which is a Canvas. I have since change my AccountView.as class see below. I have tried using both mx.controls.Text and mx.core.UITextField but neither works when it come to displaying the text in the canvas. Again the ViewStack is showing the LinkBar appropriately. Do you know why it is not working?

Thanks again!

package com.pouncilt.chuckspic3.views{
            import mx.controls.Text;
            import mx.core.UITextField;

internal class AccountView extends View{

public function AccountView(label:String){
            super(label)
            var welcomeText:UITextField = new UITextField();
            welcomeText.text = "Account Page";
            addChild(welcomeText);
            }
            }
            }
            • 3. Re: How to adding text to canvas?
              Jason Szeto Level 3