16 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2008 6:50 PM by Damon Edwards

Server to Flash communication

rl4518
      I'm new to flash and actionscript and ajax technologies, but not new to programming or design. Before I spend a lot more time and money on flash, I'd like advise. I want to have a browser client load a SWF file that I have initially created with flash, that contains animations. After it starts up in the flash player I want to push information from the http server, such as
      parameters to the running flash SWF that will control it. I don't want to reload the page with http requests, etc.
      For example, say an animation is initially created of a stationary ball, loaded and displayed by the client browser. While the http connection is still up, the server writes back to the client browser in a way that can control the ball. First, lets say text appears that labels the ball as "my red Ball", then it bounces, or tweens,etc. Or maybe we jump to a different point in the animation. Can we do it and how? Thanks, Ray.
        • 1. Re: Server to Flash communication
          ooba Level 1
          Its been a few years since I last truly played around with the rich features of flash, but if you use the Flash Communicatio Server service, you can from the Server make calls directly to the swf file on the clients browser and execute methods on it. But only via the communication is this possible, as far as I know.
          • 2. Re: Server to Flash communication
            rl4518 Level 1
            Tank you for the information. At the risk of sounding ignorant, is the "flash communication server service" mentioned a separate software package? Exactly what is necessary to make it run and where might I go to read some documentation on it?

-thanks!
            • 3. Re: Server to Flash communication
              Level 7
              Hi rl14518,

Flash Communication Server is a separate piece of software sold by