4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2006 4:17 PM by SPGAnne

probelm with listeners for components in a dynamically loaded swf

SPGAnne Level 1
      Beginner here, so be gentle.
      I have created a .swf which has some button components on it. I have the following code on a .fla

stop();
      import mx.controls.*;
      var layout:MovieClip = this.createEmptyMovieClip("layout",1);

var my_mcl:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
      my_mcl.addListener(this);
      my_mcl.loadClip("layout.swf", layout);
      function onLoadInit(target_mc:MovieClip, status:Number):Void {
      trace("clip loaded"); // this works fine
      addListeners();
      }
      function addListeners():Void {
      trace("label of go button is " + layout.goBtn.label); // this works fine, so I can obviously address stuff by their instance name in the loaded swf
      layout.goBtn.addEventListener("click", goClicked());
      }
      function goClicked():Void {
      trace("goClicked function called");
      layout.gotoAndStop(2);
      }

The layout.swf loads fine, but as soon as the addEventListener statement executes it calls the goClicked function. Then when I try to actually click on the go button, nothing happens (i.e. I don't get my trace statement);

I'm sure I must be doing something truly dumb or am missing a key concept.

Thanks in advance for anyone that can help.

• 1. Re: probelm with listeners for components in a dynamically loaded swf
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          You missed an object that listens for the event.

stop();
          import mx.controls.*;
          var layout:MovieClip = this.createEmptyMovieClip("layout",1);

var btn_listener:Object=new Object();

var my_mcl:MovieClipLoader = new MovieClipLoader();
          my_mcl.addListener(this);
          my_mcl.loadClip("layout.swf", layout);

function onLoadInit(target_mc:MovieClip, status:Number):Void {
          trace("clip loaded"); // this works fine
          addListeners();
          }