9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2009 2:26 PM by Fugasi

A Real beginner

Physliz
      Hi all

I am a true beginner. I have begun the Dreamweaver tutorials, but they are now taking me down paths that I do not need. I still don't understand how to begin - the tutorials use a bank of files. I need help with how I start those files for the simple website I wish to make. Can anyone please help - or point me to some information.
        • 1. Re: A Real beginner
          Level 7
          Hi Phys,

> I am a true beginner. I have begun the Dreamweaver tutorials, but they are
          > now
          > taking me down paths that I do not need. I still don't understand how to
          > begin
          > - the tutorials use a bank of files. I need help with how I start those
          > files
          > for the simple website I wish to make. Can anyone please help - or point
          > me to
          > some information.

You need to take the time to understand what you're about to do - if the
          tutorials are too much hassle for you, you're probably not ready to use DW
          to build your site - even the simplest of sites uses a bank of files!.

--
          Aloha,

Jerry
          http://MauiWebDesigns.com

• 2. Re: A Real beginner
            Level 7
            These books, in the order listed, would provide a good starting point and
            base.
            http://www.peachpit.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=0321430840&rl=1
            http://www.sitepoint.com/books/design1/?SID=b8ccb8757daf84bf0b3b2ae4414031a2
            http://www.sitepoint.com/books/html1/

The key is to understand HTML & CSS before even opening Dreamweaver. It's
            kind of like understanding carpentry before learning how to use a power saw.

--

Walt

"Physliz" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
            news:gkgthv$c6b$1@forums.macromedia.com...
            > Hi all
            >