6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2008 4:07 PM by rlc5611

What's wrong with this conditional?

GraphicsGeezer Level 1
      As an Actionscript newbie, I'm trying to get a Flash menu to go to a particular frame when a site is on a particular page, defined by a PHP variable which appears after the menu address (such as index.php?readme=419). Seems to work sporadically and the Flash menu, which is 10 frames long, hangs on various frames. Here's the bit of script:

if (readme == 419 || readme == 431) {
      gotoAndStop(10);
      } else {
      stop();
      }

Thanks for any help.
        • 1. Re: What's wrong with this conditional?
          rlc5611 Level 1
          is readme string or number?
          • 2. Re: What's wrong with this conditional?
            GraphicsGeezer Level 1
            It's a number. I've added this bit to initiate it:
            var readme:Number=1;
            if (readme == "419" || readme == "431") {
            gotoAndStop(10);
            } else {
            stop();
            }

• 3. Re: What's wrong with this conditional?
              rlc5611 Level 1
              Strong typing in AS2 is not strong. If you assign text to a number, it becomes text.

But you say readme is a number and yet you are now checking (your last post) to see if it is a string.

Why did you change from number in the first post to string in the second?

Just try running this script

Why don't you put

trace("my name is readme and my value is " + readme + " and I am a " + typeof(readme));

right before your conditional and test the movie

• 4. Re: What's wrong with this conditional?
                Level 7
                Hello rlc5611,

> Strong typing in AS2 is not strong. If you assign text to a number, it
                > becomes text.
                >
                > But you say readme is a number and yet you are now checking (your
                > last post) to see if it is a string.
                >