Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop Making a Mess of RAW photos

New Here ,
Dec 14, 2018 Dec 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I've been using PS for years, but I'm fairly new to photography, and very new to shooting in RAW. I recently took some photos in a very low/red concert lighting situation. The original images obviously are not amazing, but they are, in fact crisp, and have a solid red color wash over the whole photo. However, when I import these photos into PS (CC 2019/MacOS High Sierra), they look pink (instead of red) slightly darker, much less sharp (almost as if a blur has been added), and all this without me touching a single PS Raw setting.

I had a long interaction with Adobe support today, where I allowed them access to my computer and they changed a bunch of settings and updated my Camera Raw software, but nothing has changed. They are now "escalating" it to a higher level support, which I should be hearing back from in the next 24-48 hours.

But is this normal? Is there something I'm missing? When I open the .NEF file in my mac preview software, it looks crisp and clear with perfect lighting and color. But as soon as I import it into PS it becomes a pink blurry mess. Surely this isn't normal.

Does anyone have any advice/suggestions?

Thank you,

CJ

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 14, 2018 Dec 14, 2018

That preview is adding a graininess through excessive sharpening. If you want to do that for effect you can using the clarity control

On the other hand you could choose to take it in a different direction altogether. That is the advantage of ACR - it's your choice not the camera's choice.

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi