4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2008 2:52 PM by INVT

Animation doesn't loop

wizardchef Level 1
      I am a newbie to Flash and animation design. I have used a tutorial to build some animated text. The scene has 6 layers with some tweening, and all layers terminate on the 20th frame. It works fine when I "Test Movie" except it goes through one complete animation, then the scene goes blank for about twice the length of time of a single pass through the 20 frames of the animation, then it reappears and plays again. I tried putting "gotoAndPlay(1);" in the ActionScript (I'm using 2.0), but that didn't make any difference.

What is going on? I thought it would automatically loop if there is not script in the last frame.
        • 1. Re: Animation doesn't loop
          INVT Level 1
          sound like there are some empty frames alo9ng the timeline but without seeing the timlein I can't be sure.

Can you provide a link to a screen capture?
          • 2. Re: Animation doesn't loop
            wizardchef Level 1
            Yes, a high res JPEG is here: http://www.stokelynews.com/screen copy.jpg

I am simply trying to add some "twinkle" to this set of letters and have it loop endlessly without the blank space in time. I copied a technique found at:

http://www.flash-game-design.com/flash-tutorials/glitGraphic-flash-tutorial.html

Even putting a "stop()" in the 20th frame does not stop the looping with the long blank pause.
            • 3. Re: Animation doesn't loop
              wizardchef Level 1
              I got this thing to work. To make it work, I had to put the ActionScript in the first layerwhere the static text resides in the last frame . The instructions I was following up the ActionScript in a layer by itself.

Before I check "problem solved," invt, can you or someone tell me why this is true? I thought the Action Script would apply equally to all layers at that frame. ??????
              • 4. Re: Animation doesn't loop
                INVT Level 1