4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2007 7:47 PM by Peter Flynn (Adobe)

how do you compile and test Actionscript 3.0 class in Flex2?

I'm a Actionscript programmer for years, but very new to Flex. For my componey want to use some advantages brought by AS3, I desided to use Flex builder to work with AS3 and build classes and swf files. After I installed Flex builder, I find that it is a big trouble to compile and test Actionscript 3.0 class.

First, it's not like Java or MTASC which calls main function. Flex seems to "new" the class instead, and even worse, it always "new" the main class in the project, event the run menu has changed it's label to the current class. which means if I want to test a simple Class, I need to write a constructor for test only and set it as main class.

So I tried to write mxml files, althought I don't want to mostly, because most of time, I only want to test one Class. And a another problem comes out: I cannot put mxml files in a subdirectory, because Flex does not build subdirectory in bin directory, so it cannot find the template html file.

I'm wondering how do you guys compile and test your AS3 Class with Flex, help me please...
        • 1. Re: how do you compile and test Actionscript 3.0 class in Flex2?
          ntsiii Level 3
          It seems that I always have an active application that I am working on to test AS components, and have never had problem.

Tracy
          • 2. Re: how do you compile and test Actionscript 3.0 class in Flex2?
            Chekote
            You can't compile an AS3.0 class file without an MXML file. You need at least one MXML file that either import and instantiates, or extends an AS3.0 file to "get the ball rolling".
            • 3. Re: how do you compile and test Actionscript 3.0 class in Flex2?
              jmryan