0 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2008 8:55 PM by PEspeland

Frustration with obtaining educational license

PEspeland
      I am wondering if anyone else is experiencing frustration receiving the free Flex Builder license for students. I am a student enrolled at a US college and have gone to the Adobe Educational Store and clicked on the link for the free offer for students. This takes me to the site www.flexregistration.com. In there I have filled out the form four (4) times since November when the offer started and provided my scanned copies of my tuition bills and student ID card. I used the tuition bills to show that I am a current student.

I have tried going through Adobe Customer Service multiple times and each time I received a bland response telling me that I had not placed a web order. This is not possible for this promotion. I tried calling Adobe Customer Service three times only to be patched through to operators in India whom I could barely understand. Finally they gave up and sent me to Flex Builder tech support, who of course told me they could not help me because I "don't have the product". My last ditch was calling the Store support, who told me that they could not help me as "their computers were currently down".

I love all of what I am seeing Flex Builder currently do. I just REALLY want to learn Flex Builder and show my classes that it is the next great wave and I think what Adobe is offering is really an amazing promotion. If I don't resolve this I will have to continue my classes using the free version of Visual Studio Express that Microsoft freely offers and continue learning .NET.

I think Adobe has great products, but when it comes to encouraging learning in educational institutions, I question their commitment, when I can not receive a coherent response from anyone in the company. In this regard, Microsoft clearly has them beat.