• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I still cut these spread pages and add 3mm bleed, and how?

New Here ,
Jan 11, 2019 Jan 11, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear forum,

For my work I am busy with a catalogue of machines that we sell. This catalogue is already pre-made and I made some significant changes to it.

I tried to send it to the press company but they say they CAN cut the pages loose but that the 3mm bleed is missing, which might cause white edges.

I am not an expert in illustrator, just barely knew how to edit the file, but is it somehow possible to cut the pages loose from each other and add the 3mm bleed, but most importantly for me: how?

Hope to hear from someone! Thanks in advance.

illustrator page.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Jan 21, 2019 Jan 21, 2019

Dear all,

Thanks for all the tips I have received.
I agree that Illustrator is not much of an catalogue creator, but the company makes them all in that software and they do turn out fine every time.

What I have done for my particular situation is create a new file with 3mm bleeds and simple copy and paste from old to new file, then leaving the second page out of the printing area. I send it to the press company and it turned out great!

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You will need to make two nighbouring artboards out of this one.

Then export them each with bleed.

You really made a catalogue in Illustrator? Seriously, this is a job for InDesign.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines